Bears at Red River Gorge!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bears at Red River Gorge!!

Just thought I would post this up. I've never heard of black bears around that area. I would imagine they stay away from the noise of 4x4's but it's good to know that they are there.

http://nky.cincinnati.com/apps/pbcs....103/306290053/

I guess I should introduce myself since I'm starting a thread. I've been lurking since last years benefit at BnB. I'm the guy who showed up late in the blue 4-runner. I met a few of you and ran into Brody who I graduated HS with. I haven't been out on the trails much at all in the last few years and haven't made it to a meeting yet but hope to soon. Lot's going on now but I used to hit Natural Bridge, Livingston, and Haspin whenever possible.
    Eric

Welcome welcome.
    I want to be the reason you look down at your phone and smile........then walk into a pole.

Comment

Fella had bacon grease covering him and glazed doughnuts in his pockets supposedly! I am sceered now.
      sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by 94Dodge Truggy View Post
        Fella had bacon grease covering him and glazed doughnuts in his pockets supposedly! I am sceered now.
        Shoot I'd bite him too..
        Ian

06 Toyota 4Runner

Comment

Oh My!

Comment

Scott said he yelled and dropped his belt bag, hoping to distract the animal. The bear just sniffed the bag and continued approaching Scott, who grabbed a rotted branch and hit the bear. But the animal kept coming.
            Sounds like scott started it...
            www.offroadohio.com
            www.facebook.com/offroadohio1
            www.youtube.com/offroadohio1
            www.photobucket.com/offroadohio

Comment

I live here in Stanton, the fella apperently got pics
              of the bear approaching him. That tells me he was provoking the animal in some way. As of now, all hiking trails in the area are closed. That's great for our local economy.